Art-Music-Fund-Seesaw-leaderboard-ad-970x90-1.jpg

Articles

  • Photo Daniel Grant Joe Lui squats in the front corner of the photo, with a guitar. He is wearing a cowboy hat and outfit in red and black. In the background is Phoebe Sullivan, who wears tight, sensual red and black garments and poses seductively. Desire stripped bare
    Opinion

    Desire stripped bare

    20 January 2022

    In their new burlesque-cabaret work, local theatre makers Joe Lui and Phoebe Sullivan dive into desire, to strip away some ugly truths. But what prompted them to lay these issues bare?

    Reading time • 10 minutesCabaret
  • a woman in a super hero suit stands with rays of light streaming from her Why are female-led superhero films stuck in the past?
    Opinion

    Why are female-led superhero films stuck in the past?

    15 December 2021

    The increase of lead female characters in the superhero film genre has brought welcome diversity. But Dr Jess Taylor asks why the battles against gender inequality are all set in the past?

    Reading time • 5 minutes
  • A stage with the curtain down. The curtain is red and lit with several spotlights. When a classic becomes controversial: Part II
    Opinion

    When a classic becomes controversial: Part II

    21 September 2021

    In part two of our conversation about what we do when beloved classic works perpetuate outdated – and potentially damaging – views and values, local writer, director, designer and composer Joe Paradise Lui dives into the fray.

    Reading time • 10 minutesMulti-arts
  • Reading time • 9 minutesLiterature
  • PERTH, AUSTRALIA - JUNE 26: 
Pictured is dress rehearsal for West Side Story production on June 26, 2021 at Crown Theatre in Perth, Australia. (Photo by Will Russell) What happens when a classic becomes controversial?
    Opinion

    What happens when a classic becomes controversial?

    19 August 2021

    In the wake of fiery debate on social media after the publication of Seesaw’s review of West Side Story, we invited WA arts leaders to weigh in on the question of what we do when beloved classic works perpetuate outdated views and values.

    Reading time • 7 minutesMulti-arts
  • Rosalind Appleby and Nina Levy sit next to each other, holding tea cups and smiling. Four years on… Seesaw’s birthday wish
    Opinion

    Four years on… Seesaw’s birthday wish

    4 August 2021

    As Seesaw Magazine celebrates its fourth birthday, its managing editors reflect on the lessons they’ve learned since pressing the publish button for the first time.

    Reading time • 5 minutesMulti-arts
  • Three women stand against a rendered wall, arms around shoulders Support Seesaw, your arts playground
    Opinion

    Support Seesaw, your arts playground

    17 May 2021

    It takes two to make a seesaw move, and we need your help! Discover how you can help secure the future of arts journalism in WA.

    Reading time • 5 minutesMulti-arts
  • Two women stand framed by camera and lighting equipment. Behind them is a wooden staircase and their hands rest on a green chair in front of them How did we get here?
    Opinion

    How did we get here?

    16 April 2021

    Seesaw Magazine is pioneering a new way of producing professional arts journalism. Find out how you can support us and keep courageous, professional and independent journalism alive.

    Reading time • 6 minutesMulti-arts

Cleaver Street Studio

Cleaver Street Studio

Cleaver Street Studio