Music: Karina Canellakis & Ning Feng: Russian Masterworks

27 August 2018

  • Reading time • 1 minute
  • More like this

23 & 24 November @ Perth Concert Hall ·
Presented by West Australian Symphony Orchestra ·

The most profound of Shostakovich’s ‘War Symphonies’ echoes the suffering of 1943 on a tremendous scale, ferocious and harrowing. A statement of personal grief amid mass devastation, the poignant ending yearns not for heroic victory, but for peace.

Prokofiev was on the verge of returning to Russia after decades in the West when he wrote his bittersweet Second Violin Concerto. Ning Feng returns to astonish WASO audiences with his effortless, soaring virtuosity.

“Ning Feng demonstrated the form that places him well to the forefront of violin virtuosi… he wooed and won the heart of every listener.” – The West Australian

More info

Pictured: Karina Canellakis & Ning Feng: Russian Masterworks

Like what you're reading? Support Seesaw.

Author —
Maureen Levy

Past Articles

Read Next

Leave a comment

Cleaver Street Studio

Cleaver Street Studio


Cleaver Street Studio